Being a Lady today.

So today’s women want it all. We want to be the perfect mother, wife, friend, daughter. It is a constant marvel to me how some of my lady friends do it. This comes into the Facebook comparison of ‘Oh, her life is so amaaaaaazing’ etc etc.

This is a facade. Your girl is sitting in her pyjamas at 5pm, burnt out and eating Doritos.

I want it all, sure. I want to have a great job, be a great wife, friend, daughter. I want to Skype my mother more often than I do. I want to further my own start up business. I want to get involved in community activities. I want to read more, run more, and sleep more, as well as watch Orange is the new Black (I know, I STILL haven’t seen it).

But some days, it just doesn’t happen. And that’s okay.

I call it the spinning plates action. As per my last blog (Tiredtiredtired: A Woman’s story) – I am spinning many plates, and trying to keep them all going. If I concentrate on one thing, other things suffer. If I work too much at my blog, my husband isn’t hanging out with me (and that is tough y’all).

So I just go with the flow a little more each day, and say no a lot. Saying no is not selfish, it’s necessary. If you think you will be overloaded, strip off the excess items. You will feel much better about yourself and your life without the endless guilt trip of ‘Oh I need to do this’ etc.

This week I have organised my out of work workload into 3 weekday nights, so I can hang out with the husband on the weekend. This means that I work my butt off but then get time to read that book, see people, etc. And I won’t look at my email or anything. It’ll be amazing!

So think about your life, and what you want out of it. Is there any way you could make your life more simple? Is there anything people rely on your for that they realistically could do themselves? Do you need help with things?

Let me know how you are going with those spinning plates!! I’ll be the one running past with a podcast on French language (multitasking is my friend)!

T xx

One thought on “Being a Lady today.

Leave a Reply

