Job Hunting today.

Hi team!

So this month is centered on business and work! This blog I thought I would tackle job hunting!

Oh it is the worst. I hate job hunting. And I have changed jobs a few times now, but it never gets easier or better. I also got a wake up call as well on how old fashioned I am with the job hunting today.

I thought, Generic CV, a paragraph about how hardworking and motivated I am, bullet points of what I did in my jobs, two referees to give praise on how hard I work, and a cover letter that I just needed to switch names and companies on.

NO TARYN, JUST NO.

Todays job market is very competitive. Im sure you have seen various tweets going around about that you need to have a degree, be a recent graduate, and have 40 years experience in your field. While that is what it feels like, the most important thing is that employers need to see potential and some experience, even if you just did stuff at uni. Which leads me onto my next point, life experience.

Life experience is important, and should be a part of your CV. For example, I volunteered as a visual merchandiser with Barnardo’s while working my part time job, and with my full time job I am helping to coordinate a conference. These add to my skill set without taking a course (although I encourage you to do so if you can!) and add value onto you as a potential employee.

Networking. This is one that is new to me, knowing people in the industry you want to work in. How i tackled this one is to get into Facebook groups, set yourself up on Linked In (there are a lot of great groups on there) and look for local tea mornings and meet ups that you can attend and meet people who potentially may be able to help you get the job you want or know someone that can.

Set yourself apart and let people know that you are different. If you are a graphic designer, you can play with your CV and make it very individual without compromising your CV. If you are a marketing graduate with a need to get ahead, make a campaign marketing yourself! People who are looking at CVs average 6 seconds looking at the CV before they put it down (I should know, thats how long I did it too!).

Get jobs sent to your Inbox. I get Indeed, My World of Work, and Monster sent to my inbox, and then i can sit and look at jobs that are tailored to me and help me apply for them easily instead of trawling millions of websites.

Put it out there that you are hunting for a job. You never know whose mums friends sisters uncle owns a business that you can be a part of and can pop your CV into. This is an old fashion version of LinkedIn but really if you get a chat to a potential employer this will make a more lasting impression!

Above all else, treat it like a job in itself. Set goals, track your progress, and constantly research new ways to get yourself out there and get your CV in front of the right people!

Good luck if you are job hunting, and hope you found this useful. Now off to the emails to find my dream job! (Besides blogging that is!)

T xx

Be my buddy!

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

Leave a Reply

