I’m 31 and I have a 90s Obsession. (Language)

Hi team!

Welcome to the last instalment of my love for the 90s. Have I saved the best for last? Perhaps. I am talking about all the cool words we used to say in the 90s/00s that we thought were soooo cool. I said some of these to one of my young super cool staff members and she looked at me like I was nuts. She then told me all the cool words that she and her friends say and I felt like an old woman as I didn’t understand them at all! Think of how our parents felt!

Lets take the word PHAT. Phat was a word I tried and then was like ughhh….not sure about this one. But everything was PHAT in the 90s, or cool if you aren’t in the know. So totally PHAT. That issue of Smash Hits was totally PHAT this month. The Vengaboys are PHAT. Etcetc.

BOOYAH!!! Which means YAY! AWESOME! YOU KNOW IT! What a word that is satisfying to say and you have to say it loud with some kind of arms spread pose also, just to drive your own coolness home.

Talk to the hand. Just talk to the hand. I LOVED this one as a teenage girl because its so sassy. Accompanied with your palm close to someones face, this was meant to shut people up, including bewildered parents and boyfriends. This one should come back for sure.

Thats so fly. Your top is fly. Ya girl is fly. It means cool. I like it. Its a word that isn’t in use that much but I am sure it still kicks about.

What were your favourite words of the 90s? Tell me!

T xx

Be my buddy wanna be my buddy:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

